About

About2019-11-11T07:45:10-05:00

Visikol is a CRO focused on advanced drug discovery that is leading the field of bio-imaging, bioinformatics and image analysis. We conduct drug discovery services ranging from early discovery stages through animal studies and analysis of human pathological specimens. Our services include both traditional monolayer and 3D in vitro models and assays, 3D imaging of whole mounts and large tissue specimens, histopathology and digital pathology, and custom drug discovery services.  Our core expertise is in imaging and image analysis; we use high content imaging and confocal microscopy to transform cells and tissues into images and ultimately into quantitative data sets that can be mined for actionable insights that help our Clients make more informed decisions during the drug discovery process. We are leaders in developing 3D cell culture models and assays for 3D cell culture models, and we offer implementation services for clients who wish to in-source 3D cell culture-based approaches. Additionally, Visikol manufactures and sells a suite of tissue clearing reagents and 3D immuno-labeling kits. These products allow researchers to easily and rapidly image whole tissues and 3D cell culture models in 3D instead of traditional histological sectioning.

In vitro assay services

More Info

Digital Pathology

More Info

3D Tissue Imaging

More Info

What makes us different?

Visikol differentiates itself through its expertise in advanced imaging and image analysis, 3D cell culture models and AI-enhanced digital pathology. The Visikol team has several patented technologies for tissue imaging, tissue processing, and image analysis. Utilizing a suite of tools custom developed for image processing (known as 3Screen™), the Visikol team uses advanced automated and AI-enhanced image processing techniques to quantitatively analyze bioimaging data. We work closely with our Clients as an extension of their drug discovery team and work to develop customized research plans that best address their specific research question.

How we started

The inspiration for Visikol began at Rutgers University in the fall of 2012 when Visikol Co-Founder Dr. Tom Villani first developed the Visikol tissue clearing reagents for use with a wide range of tissues. These reagents have been used by hundreds of research groups from all around the world from the jungles of Rwanda, researchers in the Arctic Circle, to researchers at major research institutions such as La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology, Cedars-Sinai, Harvard, University of Pennsylvania, and NIH. Today, Visikol has developed into a CRO that leverages its expertise in imaging, image analysis and advanced in vitro models to provide best-in-class services to its pharmaceutical Clients.

Visikol Team

Michael Johnson, PhD

Chief Executive Officer

michael.johnson@visikol.com

Tom Villani, PhD

Chief Science Officer

tom.villani@visikol.com

Brian Mulhall

Director of Operations

brian.mulhall@visikol.com

Erin Edwards, PhD

Director of In Vitro Services

erin.edwards@visikol.com

Graeme Gardner, PhD

Director of Imaging Services

graeme.gardner@visikol.com

Adam Kuehn, MD

Director of Pathology

adam.kuehn@visikol.com

Peter Worthington, PhD

Alex Magsam

Computer Vision Scientist

alex.magsam@visikol.com

Ian MacCloud

Brent Keller

Vice President, Business Development

brent.keller@visikol.com

Justen Dowling

Associate Scientist

justen.dowling@visikol.com

Leigh Rathjens

This website uses cookies to enhance the user experience. Ok